Cooking

Creamy tangy mashed potatoes

To me a potato can do no wrong. Fried, mashed, salad, soup, stew. Such versatility for such a humble vegetable. I’m pretty sure I’ve never met a potato I didn’t like. One of my favorite ways to eat them is mashed. My mashed potatoes hold nothing back, full fat, sour cream, butter the whole nine. I figure, go hard or go home.

Ingredients 

  • 6-7 potatoes of your choice
  • Kosher salt
  • 1/2 stick of softened butter or margarine, salted or unsalted
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • 1 tbs di
  • 1 tbs white pepper
  • 1/2 can of whole milk or evaporated milk or cream
  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise

  1. Peel potatoes, wash and cut into medium sized pieces. Salt the water with about a tbs of salt. I find that when I don’t salt the potatoes in this stage the finished product doesn’t taste right. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium high for about 25 minutes depending on the type of potato. Potatoes are done when fork slides easily through but are over done when potatoes fall apart


I like to keep the cover of my pot slightly opened so the potatoes cook inside but the pot doesn’t boil over

.   2.  After potatoes are cooked drain and transfer to a large mixing bowl. Add the butter right away as we need that residual heat to melt it into the potatoes. Add the sour cream and mayonnaise and mash until large lumps disappear. Taste as you go. If you feel like you want more tang, add more sour cream and/or mayo.


.     3. Add the salt to taste, dill and white pepper. You can use black pepper but I like the aesthetics of a white pepper in mashed potatoes. Mash until everything is incorporated and you should end up with something like this



At this point you can leave well enough alone and enjoy your yummy mashed potato creation. But I like to amplify the creaminess and flavor with step 4

.    4. Whip out your electric mixer and slowly add milk of your choice


Start blending and gauge how much milk you need by checking the consistency. You don’t want to add too much milk but just enough to make things nice and creamy. Also don’t over blend the potatoes because you’ll start activating the gluten in the potatoes and you’ll end up with something similar to paste. (It’s not pretty, trust me)


You should end up with glorious, whipped, creamy mashed potatoes with a subtle tang from the sour cream and mayonnaise. I hope you love these as much as I do!

2 thoughts on “Creamy tangy mashed potatoes

Leave a comment